Historic Buildings

Old Southeast Church & Old Doansburg Schoolhouse

Located south of the State Police Barracks on Route 22. Tours of the buildings are conducted on Sunday afternoons from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. from May through August. Special events are scheduled on occasion. A New Year's Eve celebration is observed by battery-powered candles each December 31st at 11:45 p.m. in the unheated church.

Old Town Hall (67 Main Street, Brewster)

The building was erected in 1896 and served as the Town Hall until 1965 when the Supervisor and Town Clerk moved to One Main Street. Currently houses the Southeast Museum and Studio Around the Corner.

Walter Brewster House

Owned by the Landmarks Preservation Society of Southeast, the Walter Brewster House was built around 1850 on the hill looking down on Main Street by the Village founder, Walter Brewster. The building has been carefully restored and hosts tours, concerts and special gatherings throughout the year.
Walter Brewster House

Tilly Foster Mine

First mined in 1853 by Harvey Iron and Steel Company, the Tilly Foster Mine boomed under the auspices of the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company of Scranton, PA, which acquired the mine in 1879. In 1890 the owners converted the mine to an open pit. At one time, it was the largest man-made hole in the world. For further information, go to the Southeast Museum website.

Red Rooster

An example of 1950s roadside architecture and design, this site is an iconic representation of American roadside architecture of that era.

One Main Street

The original First National Bank of Brewster, formerly Town Hall, now houses the Town Offices of the following:
  • Architectural Review Board
  • Building Department
  • Code Enforcement
  • Fire Inspector
  • Planning Board
  • Special Districts
  • Zoning Board of Appeals
Sitting across from the Brewster Train Station, the Town Hall Annex is a central element to Main Street in the Village of Brewster.
Town Hall on Main Street