Skip to Main Content
How Do I...
Special Districts - Drinking Water Facts
Special Districts - Drinking Water Facts
Show All Answers
What work can be done without a permit?
Interior and exterior painting or decorating or necessary repairs that do not involve material alteration of structural features can be done without a permit. Examples of work not requiring a permit would include:
- Replacement of broken window glass
- Repair of a frozen water pipe
- Replacement or repair of a broken electrical receptacle.
If you have any question regarding the need for a permit, please contact us at 845-279-2123.
Why are stamped plans required?
Applications shall be accompanied by drawings to accurate scale in ink, blueprint or tracing and typewritten specifications in duplicate, and any additional detailed drawings or other information required by the Building Inspector shall also be furnished in duplicate.
For construction of new residential dwellings in excess of 1500 square feet of living space, plans stamped by a New York State licensed Architect or Professional Engineer are required by the New York State Education Law.
As specified in the Town Code, where the estimated cost of construction of the proposed work exceeds $10,000, or in the opinion of the Building Inspector, entails significant structural construction or alteration, drawings shall be prepared, signed and stamped by an Architect or Professional Engineer licensed to practice in the State of New York. Drawings shall give the locations of the building and live floor loads, if other than those specified in the Uniform Code, kinds of occupancy, number of families or occupants and all necessary information with reference to existing constructions and shall include a property survey.
I want to construct an addition, attached garage, or deck to my house. What are the required setbacks to the property lines?
It depends on your Residential Zoning District. To see the requirements for the various districts, visit our
Setback Requirements page.
Does a storage shed (or detached garage, basketball court, swimming pool, barn, corral, etc.) require a Building Permit?
Yes, any accessory building or other structure over 48 inches high requires a permit and must be located at least 20 feet from the side or rear property line and be separated from the main house by 15 feet or the height of the structure, whichever is greater.
Only plantings, and walls and fences with permits are allowed within 20 feet of the rear or side property lines. No structures are allowed in the front yard, which extends either 35 or 50 feet from the front property line, depending on the Zoning District. In the R-160 Zone, setbacks increase to 100 feet for accessory structures.
What regulations apply to swimming pools?
All swimming pools require a Building Permit. For all pools with water depths of 24 inches or more, State Building Code requires they be enclosed by a 48-inch high fence with self-closing gates. An above-ground pool with walls over 48 inches above the adjacent ground level does not require a fence, but must have a removable ladder. Call the Building Department at 845-279-2123 for fence specifications.
What’s the difference between a Building Permit and a Certificate of Occupancy?
A Building Permit, which is issued after an application is reviewed by the Building Department, allows the work to be done. No work can begin until the Building Permit is issued. Before the structure can be used, all inspections must be completed satisfactorily and a Certificate of Occupancy issued by the Building Department.
Can I put up a fence or wall without a Permit?
All fences and walls require a Permit. Allowable fence and wall heights differ between Zoning Districts:
- R-20 - 36 feet maximum height across front property line and for a distance of 35 feet along each side property line
- R-40, R-60, and R-80 - 36 feet maximum height across front property line and for a distance of 50 feet along each side property line.
- R-160 -36 feet maximum height across front property line and for a distance of 100 feet along each side property line.
In all Residential Districts, a fence or wall up to 72 feet high is permitted on the balance of the side property line and on the rear property line. To allow for maintenance, the fence or wall should be set in 1 to 2 feet from the lot line. There is no regulation that defines which side of the fence faces the adjoining property.
Can my child operate an ATV (quad, minibike, trail bike, snowmobile, etc.) in Town?
A child can operate an ATV only under the following conditions:
- On his or her own property not closer than 100 feet to the property line
- On someone else’s property only when carrying written proof of approval granted to the operator by name
- Not before 9 a.m. or after 7 p.m. or sunset, whichever is earliest
- Not in a careless, reckless or negligent manner.
On the road only if the operator is licensed and the vehicle is registered with the DMV.
Can I have a business in my home?
Certain “home occupations” are allowed in Residential Districts only with a Conditional Use Permit from the Planning Board.
Can I park my RV or boat in my yard?
Yes, one unoccupied RV or boat up to 35 feet in length can be parked. It cannot be parked within 20 feet of the side or rear property line in most Districts (100 feet in R-160 District), or within 35 feet (R-20 District), 50 feet (R-40, R-60, R-80 District) or 100 feet (R-160 District) of the front property line.
Does the Town permit mother/daughter apartments?
In Residential Districts, Town Code allows only a single-family house, or a single-family house with an Accessory Apartment after approval by the Planning Board. No rooms can be converted to use as a bedroom without a Building Permit and approval from the County Board of Health for properties with septic systems, or from the Town Special Districts Administrator for properties with central sewer service.
To avoid conflict with the Zoning Code, contact the Building Department for the specific regulations that apply to your property.
Slideshow Left Arrow
Slideshow Right Arrow